Happily Ever For 50 Years and Still Going Strong!

My in-laws just celebrated their 50th Aniversary. We all went to the beach for a week. If my husband and I make it to 50 years we will be 93 and 94! LOL! And this is our first marriage.

This was my first family trip with my new family and it was great. Of course, like any family we had the members that did not want to conform or participate in certain things. My husband and I are both the first born and pleasers. So, not only did we agree to wear what our mother-in-law wanted us to wear for the Christmas card picture-we also brought additional white shirts for family members we suspected would not bring what they were asked to wear.

The rebels not only did not bring what they were asked to bring they also refused to wear our back up options. And one member was not even present when picture time rolled around. It was refreshing to see that all families have their black sheep and what really matters is how you handle the rebels.

My mother-in-law was a sport about the whole thing. But, having lost a parent and knowing my parents will not celebrate their 50th (as well as being a pleaser) I wondered why others can’t conform for 5 minutes to make their mother or mother-in-law happy while celebrating their anniversary???

I am sure part of making it 50 years is learning to roll with the punches and that is the lesson I got out of our celebration week. We can’t control others-even when it’s our party!

I am thankful to be a part of such a great family (rebels and all) and hope to celebrate 50 years with my prince!

Happily Ever After and Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

